Little boxes made of ticky tacky

“Little boxes on the hillside,

Little boxes made of ticky-tacky,

Little boxes, little boxes,

Little boxes, all the same.

There’s a green one and a pink one

And a blue one and a yellow one

And they’re all made out of ticky-tacky

And they all look just the same.”
Little Boxes – Malvina Reynolds


I was on the way to work this morning on the bus and we were passing lots of new houses and flats being constructed, and I couldn’t help but hear the music “Little Boxes” (http://ingeb.org/songs/littlebo.html) in my head. They seem to be made out of the cheapest materials possible, and no attempt is being made to give the area (Horfield, or is it now called Rowling Gate) any sense of uniqueness. They were just tiny houses with tiny gardens lined up in straight lines. Now the houses that these buildings are replacing were far from great, but these new places are not the answer.

Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Little boxes made of ticky tacky

  1. I hear ya. Drives me nuts to see yet another farm turned into disneyland. Ugly, treeless, full of vans. And *still* no innovative efficiency designs beyond cheap cheap. No solar, no geothermal, nothing that moves us to a better future. I’m sure they are insulated like a thermos but still no technologies that we really need right now. More roads, more cars, more ticky tacky.

    I found this blog because I also used Ticky/Tacky in a blog entry about the van/suv/suburb (which goes together like glue and wal mart).

    I’m going to bang my head on a tree now… if I can find one.

    Icelandic joke modified for the western suburb: “What do you do if you’re lost in a suburban forest?
    .. you stand up”

  2. Vikingsson, read your article – yeah right on. I hadnt got as far as SUV’s. Its even more ridiculous here in Bristol UK where people have them, our tiny streets were never meant for motor vehicles, let alone massive 4WD behemoths!

Leave a Reply

